Wed, 6 Dec 2023


Super Eagles head coach unveils squad for Int'l friendly
By: News Editor
Fri, 11 Nov 2022   ||   Portugal, Lisbon

The Super Eagles head coach, Jose Peseiro has chosen his squad for the International friendly against Portugal.
The encounter is billed to take place on Thursday, November 17, at the Estadio Jose Alvalade in Lisbon, at 18:45pm Portugal time (19:45 pm in Nigeria).
Peseiro included regulars like William Troost-Ekong, Wilfred Ndidi, Victor Osimhen and Moses Simon in his 23-man squad for the game.
Orlando Pirates of South Africa defender, Olisa Ndah and Empoli’s Tyrone Ebuehi are making their return to the team after last featuring for the Super Eagles at the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations in Cameroon.
Combative midfielder, Oghenekaro Etebo is also back in the team after a long absence as a result of injury.
Little-known defender, Bruno Onyemaechi, who plays for Portuguese club Boavista and Fenerbahce’s Bright Osayi- Samuel have been handed their maiden call-up by Peseiro.
Rivers United defender, Ebube Duru is the only home-based player in the squad.
The Super Eagles captain, Ahmed Musa, who recently returned from injury, is not included in the squad.
Goalkeepers: Maduka Okoye (Watford FC, England); Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Adebayo Adeleye (Hapoel Jerusalem, Israel)
Defenders: William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa); Calvin Bassey (Ajax FC, The Netherlands); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany); Chidiebube Duru (Rivers United); Tyronne Ebuehi (Empoli FC, Italy); Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista FC, Portugal); Bright Osayi Samuel (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey)
Midfielders: Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Aris Thessaloniki, Greece)
Forwards: Moses Simon (Nantes FC, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy); Terem Moffi (Lorient FC, France); Paul Onuachu (Genk FC, Belgium); Victor Osimhen (SSC Napoli, Italy); Emmanuel Dennis (Nottingham Forest, England).


Back to News