Thu, 18 Jul 2024


Owosibo, Ola-Davies, others receive NSAP leadership, excellence awards
By: News Editor
Thu, 28 Mar 2024   ||   Nigeria,

Provost, Federal College of Animal Health and Production Technology (FCAH&PT), Moor Plantation Ibadan, Dr. Adekoya O. Owosibo has received the Academic Leadership Award at the 49th Annual Conference of the National Society for Animal Production (NSAP) in collaboration with the University of Ibadan (U.I) held between Monday, March 25, 2024, and Wednesday, March 27, 2024, held at the Auditorium, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, University of Ibadan, Ibadan.

The award, presented to the FCAH&PT Provost in recognition of his academic excellence in the field of animal science and agriculture, came as the college prepares for her 60th anniversary celebration from 2nd April till 7th April, 2024.

Also, Professor Olufunke Ola-Davies, the first Veterinary Biochemistry professor in Africa, first female and current Dean of Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, University of Ibadan, was a recipient of the Academic Excellence Award. Others on the category of the Academic Excellence Award are, the Dean, Faculty of Agriculture, University of Ibadan, Professor Andrew Babatunde Omojola; and the Head of Department of Animal Science, University of Ibadan, Professor M. K. Adewumi.

The Royal Fathers Award was presented to the Chairman of the occasion, the Ekaarun and Maye Olubadan of Ibadan, also the Chairman, West-Midland Communications, the mother company of Splash FM and Lagelu FM, His Royal Majesty, Olubadan of Ibadanland Oba Muritala Adebayo Akande, MFR.

Captain of Industry Awards were presented to, High Chief Simeon A. Ohwofa, the Chairman/CEO, Nutrivitas Ltd& OM Simons Nig. Ltd; Mr. Raymond Obiajulu Isiadinso, MD/CEO Mid Century Agro-Allied Ventures Ltd; Dr. Oladapo Atanda Alalade, MD/CEO, Adon Agroallied Nigeria Limited; Oleksandr Tymoshenko, Chairman, Novi Agro Limited; and Olawole Tunmise Olagbaju, MD/CEO Real People Concept. Other categories of awards included, Award of Leadership Diligence, Award of Pragmatic Scientist, Award of Research Excellence, the NSAP Young Scientist Award sponsored by Prof. D. J. Kalla, and Academic Students award.

Speaking to CEOAfrica, Dr. Owosibo reacted that the reward for hard work is more work, while he expressed his gratitude to God and the NSAP for the honour of the award. In the same vein, Prof. Ola-Davies saw the excellence award as a privilege, emphasizing on the need for more in the agricultural sector.

According to Ola-Davies, “there is need to do more in such a way that agriculture will contribute largely to the economy. Till now, we are not doing that much but we want our production to increase so that we can have our quota, which should be large in the GDP of our country.” She also urged the government’s intervention to help those in production.

Another significant feature of the NSAP conference was the investiture of the Deputy Vice Chancellor, National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN), Prof. Isaac Sammani Butswat, as the 50th Fellow of National Society for Animal Production (NSAP), in recognition of his enormous contributions in the field of animal agriculture.


Back to News