Sat, 18 May 2024


AFCON: CAF seeds Nigeria, Senegal, Cameroon, Egypt, two others
By: Cletus Sunday Ilobanafor
Sun, 15 Aug 2021   ||   Nigeria,

The Confederations of Africa Football (CAF) have seeded the Super Eagles of Nigeria, host Cameroon, Algeria, Senegal, Tunisia, and Morocco ahead of Tuesday’s 2022 Africa Cup of Nations draw in Cairo.

Recall that Nigeria qualified from group L ahead of Benin, Lesotho, and Sierra Leone.

The 24 teams that have qualified, will be divided into six groups of four teams each.

The countries were allocated into four pots of six teams each, based on the latest FIFA World Rankings.

The Super Eagles finished in third place at the last AFCON played in Egypt.

The 2022 AFCON will be played from January 9 to February 6 in Cameroon.

The draw at the Palais du Congress will divide the entrants into six groups, from which all the winners and runners-up plus the best four third-placed teams will advance to the knockout phase.

Africa Cup of Nations draw seeding:

Pot 1: Cameroon, Algeria, Senegal, Tunisia, Morocco, Nigeria

Pot 2: Egypt, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Mali, Burkina Faso, Guinea

Pot 3: Cape Verde, Gabon, Mauritania, Sierra Leone, Zimbabwe, Guinea-Bissau

Pot 4: Malawi, Sudan, Equatorial Guinea, Comoros, Ethiopia, Gambia


Back to News